Tags

, , , ,

Look what I’ve done ….

Apologies for the appallingly bad photograph. my photography skills definitely need lots of work!

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I wanted to use my first shipment of beautiful Den Haan and Wagenmakers Dutch Chintz fabrics and thought they should be shown off in a quilt reminiscent of the traditional Dutch quilts as shown in the beautiful books by An Moonen and Petra Prins. I especially wanted to use the Tree of Life panel, so set to drafting up my own pattern. I may or may not add a border, using one of my Dutch chintz ones, of course. What do you think?

I enjoyed working with the chintz fabric. Because of its body, it cuts and pieces very well, with no bias stretching that one often finds challenging when working with triangles. The seams nested together nicely and it has pressed up beautifully. I will take a better photograph for my next post, promise.

I am now sketching away, working on ideas for my next quilt. Inspiration arrived with the delivery of these gorgeous things:

20130920-133318.jpg

20130920-133341.jpg

…..and there is more on the way! Don’t you just love the purple. And the orange? And the beige? And so on….

Come see at motifsbyhand.etsy.com.
Mention this blog “Clever Me!” in the notes section of your order and receive 10% off the value of the order before postage costs are added. Offer expires midnight 30 September AEST.

I’ll be back soon.

