Tags

, , , ,

Exactly which shade of green is envy? A shade that makes me look as sick as I feel.
I did not get to go to Quilts in the Barn 2013…
I did not get to see the amazing quilts displayed there, including the gorgeous Dutch reproduction quilts, and I did not get to meet Petra Prins, Di Ford, Mary Koval or any of the other talented and skilled quilters. I have Petra and An Moonen’s books. They are beautiful books, full of beautiful quilts. Dutch quilts are a particular favourite, as are the Dutch chintz fabrics … obviously. Not just eye candy, these books have an abundance of patterns to make up yourself.

20130930-182011.jpg20130930-182138.jpg

20130930-182153.jpg

On a happier note, I am excited to be once again trekking to Wodonga for a weekend of quilting hosted by Susan Smith of Patchwork on Stonleigh fame. There is always a lovely group of ladies, some who travel from Sydney, Melbourne and Canberra as well as many who live locally. The venue is one of the best I have ever been to, being spacious, light and airy. And the food is scrumptious. Susan is hoping to have her stunning Stonefields quilt completed. It is so pretty, so delicate, so intricate …
I love meeting other quilters and stitchers. Since I am, nowadays, a solitary quilter, I especially enjoy workshops and seminars. They, along with the displays, provide so much inspiration and encouragement. Meeting the person responsible for a stunning piece of work – be it the pattern designer or the maker – gives me the confidence to give anything a go.
So, today I am consoling myself by trawling blogs for chat and pictures of anything to do with QITB. Thank you to everyone who is taking the time to share.
Do yourself a favour …. if you are looking for authentic Dutch chintz reproductions of the famous Den Haan and Wagenmakers designs, you must visit:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/Motifsbyhand

