Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hello … I’m back!!

Suffice to say that 2015 was a difficult year. But I now take on 2016 with positive thoughts and energy.

Resolution #1 – For several years now I have wanted to do a Block-a-Day. I considered doing a star a day as many others were working at last year as I do like stars. And I am liking the appliqued circles that are being gripped up by many already this year. But, as I have long wanted to do an Orange Peel quilt, I decided to make this my own block-a-day quilt for 2016.
The plan is to hand applique slim orange peel (or melon) shapes cut from the many and varied fabrics in the in-store Kaffe Fassett range, supplemented by my personal stash collected over many years, onto a background of charcoal coloured linen. The linen is called Hanky Linen. It comes in many colours and is used mostly as a ground for hand embroidery. I chose the charcoal as a strong neutral to offset the saturated colours of the Kaffe fabrics. These fabrics fascinate me: even the ugliest ones have appeal!
7a
I have already designated working title – The Good, the Bad and the Ugly (GBU).
I am happy to report that I am on track. While I relish the rare opportunity to regularly do daily block, I do have a routine where I do a few blocks at a time a couple of times a week. These are quick and satisfying … and it is difficult to stop at one!! I have been working diligently and am up to date. The photograph below is quite dated now but I will post more photos in the next day or so.
Inline image 1
Resolution #2 – Of course I can do a Block-a-Week!
So here I go with an EPP block of the week based on this quilt.

Since I first saw pictures of this quilt around the web and Pinterest some time ago I have been tempted to make it. See more about it the wonderfully interesting and informative blog hosted by Regan –

1 - Week 5
I am using the English Paper Piecing method to construct the equilateral triangles out of a scrappy selection of reproduction fabrics, mostly US Civil War era. I am on the hunt for the main chrome yellow coloured fabric so would welcome any suggestions. It is coming together nicely and a block a week is really no pressure. Again, the very bad photograph below is not up to date.
Resolution #3 – Now, I did actually have ambitions of also doing a Block-a-Month to hone my very immature hand piecing skills but have had to be rational and let that one go until 2017. I am considering one of Jen Kingwell’s patterns, possible The Circle Game.
Resolution #4 – Confession time! I resolved to blog more regularly to post progress on my daily and weekly blocks as well as any other quilting news and info. And importantly, to share all the new fabrics arriving in the shop. So far I am a dismal failure … but I am not giving this one up! To be honest, I had a post written in early January but ….  I hope this post is a new beginning.

Shop news: New fabrics arriving regularly. I received new stock of some Kaffe Collective fabrics, Anna Maria Horner’s Fibs and Fables and True Colors, some Tula Pink True Colors and a luscious range designed by Zandra Rhodes called Feathered:

The Homespun Magazine’s TILDA Block of the Month quilt Foxley Village, designed by Natalie Bird of Birdhouse Designs, is popular. Foxley Village
I have been stitching along with this one too. It is the first BOM that I have following along with and I am loving the discipline it imposes.
Please follow me on Instagram too as I often drop photos and news there too.
Thanks for visiting.
Jacqueline
BTW … At the top of my New Years Resolutions for 2017 is to improve my photography!!
https://www.etsy.com/assets/js/etsy_mini_shop.jsnew Etsy.Mini(8165877,’thumbnail’,5,5,0,’https://www.etsy.com’);
