I am having fun with English Paper Piecing. Add in some luscious jewel coloured silks and beautiful Dutch chintzes and I am having more fun than my grandchildren do with Playdoh!

A conversation at lunch last week asked whether or not creativity can be taught or learnt? I have pondered along similar lines in the past. I would definitely not consider myself to be artistic, but I can visualise and if I take the time to play I can surprise myself with the results! Not everything works out as well as I would have hoped, but more ideas are spawned…

So, I think everyone is creative in their own way, with their preferred form of expression, given the environment in which to play without inhibitions. Remember that a beauty is in the eye of the beholder and we should not be restricted to conforming to current trends.

Anyway, back to my current creative endeavours…

https://www.etsy.com/shop/Motifsbyhand?ref=si_shop

20131110-122451.jpg

20131110-122526.jpg

20131110-122606.jpg

20131110-122829.jpg

I am going to put these all together into a quilt, using some Dutch chintz borders for sashing. That will test my creativity!

I would love to know your thoughts on being creative … And why it is good for you??

Please don’t forget that You can purchase an ever increasing range of Den Haan & Wagenmakers Dutch chintz fabric in my ETSy shop, as well as English Paper Piecing supplies. Silk fabrics coming in the next week or so.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/Motifsbyhand?ref=si_shop